Playfully Serious or Seriously Playful- conversation 3

Just returned from a period of snow on the beach (not a cocktail) and leaking roofs in Devon and have much to do. But there was an interesting e-mail when we we got back. I had sent one of the albums to David Cook  (he of Airton, fine etchings, Rembrandt-esque drawings and slowly revealed space- see link) and this found it’s way back to Carine Brosse (see previous post). I started this one off with a very anodyne still-life and David has taken the theme and wittily, playfully, torn it up and turned it around and sent it off in a totally unexpected direction which Carine has run with & put another unexpected spin on. (Sounds a bit like a drawing/ 5 Nations final) All this seems to me to release a whole shower of unexpected meanings.

Whatever… I’ll just have to let the images speak for themselves…

3. David Cook  David Thomas

DCookEvoRevoDavid Cook

CarBrosseEvoRevo2  Carine Brosse

Despite what Paul Valery said about words  being only as a thin plank to cross a crevasse, not to be lingered on, I’ve increased the size of David Cook’s collage/ drawing so that the fragment of  crossword can be read better. But words isolated in drawings draw your attention to the manifold meanings packed  tightly within a small group of  letters. “Words are little winged fortresses”- Osip Mandlestam

Oh, and congratulations to Carine for having done a faster time than David Ashby in the Paris marathon!

I’m updating this on 8th May because I’m really pleased to have  received an addition to this conversation from Kim Edwards, all the way away in Saxmundham

Kim Edwards:con3

which is taking it further.From the distant echoes of sea in landlocked Grassington to the geographical reality of coastal Suffolk.

This is (for some strange reason) the only book where folk’s have consistently sent in images. Which is nice. But means that I just have to believe that the others are still out there, like William Franklin or Elvis.

But this delightful drawing by Ruth McCabe fell into my in-box last week-

conversation 3 ruthmccabe

I’d love to have an interactive map showing where all these come from but pencil on paper’s about as interactive as I can do. But it seems that there are areas in the country (and, despite not knowing the place, I do know of many of the artists) such as Suffolk where representation takes a more felt or sensed path rather than the way visual correctness is prized in Yorkshire. I over simplify, but there seems to be a more relaxed attitude in artists in East Anglia.

3 Comments

Filed under Art, Drawing, imagery

3 responses to “Playfully Serious or Seriously Playful- conversation 3

  1. This is such a lovely blog, I am forwarding it to all sorts of people. I don’t find the initial still life ‘anondyne’ Dave – conveying plentiful narrative without the employment of actual words.

    Thanks for listing sukithelifemodel.co.uk in your links – though a FAR more useful link you’ve listed is Learn WordPress.com – which I will avail myself of! I have become far too dependent on my Website Genius…

    • Wow! Effusive!- thanks Suki. Actually “Dumb” 0r “Stupid” in a totally valueless way would probably be more accurate than “Anodyne”- Meaning
      in the way I try to erase anything other than a direct response to what’s in front of me. I admire (boy, do I) wit but have to leave it to others.

  2. Pingback: Successful Drawing Part 1 | EvolveRevolve

Leave a Reply

